Things You Should Avoid While on Workers’ Compensation in California

You should avoid not following a treatment plan, exaggerating your injuries, not selecting your own doctor, or posting on social media about your injury while on workers’ compensation in California.

You were recently injured at work, and now you’re hopefully going on workers’ comp. Before this time period starts, you need to learn about things to avoid while you’re on workers’ comp to ensure that you get the full benefits you need. Then, you can have peace of mind that you’ll be able to focus on healing and treating your injuries at this time. Here’s some more information.

Not Telling Your Employer by the Workers’ Comp Deadline

In California, you must report your injury to your employer within 30 days of your injury. If you don’t, you could lose your right to get the benefits you deserve. Make sure that you report your injuries right away and that you get a copy of the report in writing just in case. There are some exceptions to this rule an attorney will be able to help you with.

Not Providing the Right Details

If you don’t provide the right details about your injuries, you may not get the workers’ comp you need to cover your injuries and time off. Make sure that as soon as your accident happens, you write down everything you remember. If you don’t remember something, perhaps a coworker does. Maybe it was caught on camera and you can review the footage.

Not Going in for Consistent Treatment

If you’re not going to your doctor when you have appointments, failing to attend appointments with specialists, not taking your medicines, or otherwise not following your medical orders, then the insurance company could try to take your workers’ comp away. Even if you don’t think you need treatment, you should listen to what your doctor says and get treatment for as long as it’s medically necessary. Furthermore it’s important to keep a medical record evidencing how you are doing until your case is finalized.

Posting About Your Injuries Online

While you’re on workers’ comp, you shouldn’t post about your injuries online, including on social media platforms like Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, LinkedIn, and YouTube. The insurance company may use your posts to try and take away your benefits, even if you are injured and aren’t feeling well. Being cautious about what you decide to put online is best.

Not Selecting Your Doctor

In the first 30 days after your injury occurs, the insurance company can choose a doctor to treat you. But once those 30 days have passed, you can choose your own doctor. This is the best route to take because your doctor is familiar with you and can provide you with more personalized treatment. You’re likely to be more comfortable with your own provider as well. Often the insurance company will send you to doctors they like that may not be sympathetic to the injured worker.

Not Returning to Work for Light-Duty Jobs

Your doctor may clear you to go back to work and perform light-duty jobs. This may be different from what you’re used to, but it’s a good way to get back into the workplace. If you refuse to return, the insurance company could become suspicious, and your workers’ comp benefits may be reduced or taken away. If you do not feel like it’s the right time to go back, tell your doctor about any symptoms you’re experiencing and how working could be detrimental at this time.

Contacting Tichy Law Inc.

If you’ve been injured at work and need representation, then contact the workers’ compensation attorneys Tichy Law Inc. at (916) 444-0321 for a free consultation. We look forward to assisting you at this time.

Get Started

Contact us to speak with an experienced attorney today.

Related Posts